Camille Henrot


  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques

Collections préhistoriques

© Camille Henrot
Courtesy the artist and kamel mennour, Paris

 

Collections préhistoriques originated with my obsession with collecting and exchanging objects. The starting-point is a book on Algerian prehistory that was stolen in May 1968 from the library at Jussieu, and subsequently purchased on eBay. Published four years before Algerian independence, it shows the stones and objects collected and identified by soldiers and priests.

Collections préhistoriques brings together erotic images, images relating to prehistory and objects collected on eBay – it suggests that the forms fashioned by the human hand are inspired both by the forms that make us and the way in which the body functions. Using the methods of the hunter-gatherer, the different fragments, objects and photographs are assembled in an intuitive manner, or with the aim of establishing connections. A tension emerges between the desire to organise – to find meaning – and a desire to recreate confusion and chaos.

I used images linked to prehistory because onto this ‘cavern’ of history, modern humans project their sensual fantasies and their nostalgia for a time before the separation of nature and culture. In the western imagination, prehistory is the setting for a fantasy of a return to an origin associated with guilt-free pleasure. It is, as Jack London puts it, “Before Adam”.

Camille Henrot

 

See also

Camille Henrot


  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques
  • Collections préhistoriques

Collections préhistoriques

© Camille Henrot / Manuella Éditions, Paris
Courtesy the artist and kamel mennour, Paris

 

À l’origine de Collections préhistoriques, il y a mon obsession pour la collection et la circulation des objets. Le support de départ est un livre sur la préhistoire algérienne qui fut volé en mai 1968 à la bibliothèque de Jussieu, puis acheté sur eBay : publié quatre ans avant l’indépendance de l’Algérie, il montre des pierres et des objets collectés et répertoriés par des militaires et des prêtres.

Collections préhistoriques est un livre qui associe images érotiques, images relatives à la préhistoire et objets collectionnés sur eBay - postulant que les formes façonnées par la main de l’homme sont inspirées par les formes qui le constituent et la manière dont son corps fonctionne. À la manière du chasseur-cueilleur, les différents fragments, objets, et photographies sont assemblés de manière intuitive ou dans une volonté d’établir des connexions. Une tension nait entre une volonté d’organiser - de trouver du sens - et une volonté de recréer de la confusion, du chaos.

J’ai utilisé des images liées à la préhistoire car l’homme contemporain projette dans cette « caverne » de l’histoire, ses fantasmes sensuels et sa nostalgie d'un temps précédent la séparation de la nature et de la culture. Dans l'imaginaire occidental, la préhistoire est le lieu où s’opère le fantasme d’un retour vers une origine associée à un plaisir déculpabilisé, comme le dit Jack London, elle est un « avant-Adam ».

Camille Henrot

 

Voir également